Blog

New Book – New Candle

What if one moment changed everything?

Mahlorie hates her braces. And who cares what she looks like anyway? Her parents sure do. Dad, a travelling magician, and Mom, a famous erotica author, constantly harp on the importance of appearance. Her best friend Shai is the epitome of pop-culture, crushing on every boy with a cute smile. But when Mal has a near-death experience and can suddenly hear a boy’s voice in her head, life takes a turn for the weird. He can hear her too. How did her braces become transmitters? And who is this boy she just might be falling in love with?

This magical coming-of-age tale of mystery and self-discovery, and love and friendship, makes the impossible become all too real…

For fans of “The Fault in Our Stars” and James Patterson’s Middle School Series.

“It’s cute and funny and a good, clean read for YA.” –5 Star Review

“Engle tends to make a common literary trope into a page-turner, because she is not afraid of the weird.” –5 Star Review

“The smooth prose, clever plot twists will snag middle-schoolers.  Adult readers will marvel at how Engle so clearly channels teens.” –5 Star Review

Metal Mouth 3D

I am so excited to share this book with the world, and from the early reviews, I am so happy how this story is already touching reader’s hearts. I’ve created LIGHTNING MAGIC, a sweet blend of rain, mystery, and magical realism into the paired Wick Books® Candle, available through the shop link or directly at http://www.jmebooks.com.

metal mouth wb

Support the release by following these incredible bloggers through the launch day Book Blitz, and the month long Book Tour to share Metal Mouth. You can also enter to win 1 of 5 signed copies of the book here:

ENTER TO WIN HERE!

And here’s an excerpt from the book to get you ready to buy a copy!

Excerpt

Mom and Dad finally agree to disagree. They get along much better when there’s a lot of land between them. It’s ironic because both of my parents make their living by an illusion that they sell to the public while in private, they’re totally different people. Dad, with a sleight of hand, can make you see only what he wants you to see.

“It’s all about presentation, turtledove, how you look and where you look. Get the crowd to believe what you want them to believe. See? The magic is how well you sell it. Your pitch. Your package. In this world, people will believe the truth is whatever you show them it is. Appearance is everything.”

Mom, on the other hand, creates these perfect worlds in opposition of the one in which she lives, tied up neatly in the end through the power of love. Her appearance is her ticket. How she looks affects how fans perceive her. Once, Mom actually paid a team of marketers to determine which color pant suit she should wear. By her outfit change, she sold 5,000 books and landed a guest spot on The Today Show.

“Appearance is everything, lambkin. You won’t be successful as a woman without purposed wardrobe, hair, and make-up. People don’t really care about who you are until they see that you fit the mold. Understand? You can be whoever you want to be so long as you make it believable.”

This, by the way, is the only reason I got these stupid braces. It’s also the reason why I hate short dresses and glittery barrettes. It isn’t that I don’t want to be popular like Shai. What if I can’t? What if no matter how well I sleight my hand or how often I change my clothes, I never find my place? That failure scares me more than not fitting in. So, what do I do? I manipulate my personality, tweak my appearance, and blend.

Where does that leave me?

Somewhere in my dad’s deck of cards or my mom’s perfectly constructed novel where I blend into a false reality and play the role I’m supposed to play. “Appearance is everything.”

“Appearance is nothing,” the voice in my head contradicts, only this time, I’m not certain the voice is mine.

 

Don’t forget to review on Amazon & Goodreads!

It’s your GREATEST compliment.

Indie Author Expansion: Keith Rommel, “The Devil Tree”

Wick Books® Now Creating Custom Candle Orders!

Wick Books® is proud to introduce the FIRST Indie Author Series handcrafted for Keith Rommel’s psychological horror The Devil Tree, published by Hellbender Books.

devil tree2

What is The Devil Tree?

Based on the Port St. Lucie Legend …

The Devil Tree Keith RommelBack in the 1970s, a series of bizarre incidents occurred at what has since been known as The Devil Tree. Beneath this ancient denizen, evil was wrought by a sick serial killer, calling upon forces most evil and dark. People were hung there … and bodies buried there … exhumed by the police. Overcome by superstition, some tried to cut down the tree, to no avail. Since then, it has stood in a remote section of a local park — left to its own devices — quiet in its eerie repose — until now!

Best-selling psychological-thriller author Keith Rommel has imagined the whole tale anew. He’s brought the tree to life and retold the tale with gory detail only possible in a fiction novel. Action-packed, with spine-tingling detail, this thriller is beyond parallel in the ground it uncovers … one author’s explanation of what may have really been said — what may have really happened — under Port St. Lucie’s Devil Tree.

Consulting with Keith

This creepy story spins around The Devil Tree of Port St. Lucie. I wanted to capture the outdoors to allow the reader to experience the woodlands, so I combined essences of pinecones, amber, and minerals from the dirt. I added the cleansing aroma of raindrops for a soft undertone, to give Keith’s readers a hint of hope.devil tree3

Taking into consideration the supernatural elements of the book, I chose the hot red hue for the mineral-based gel instead of the natural shades of the forest. I believe the red ties in the book cover, creating an incredible looking candle that smells amazing.

To order the candles, you can reach out to Keith directly at www.keithrommel.com. For books, you can grab signed copies from Keith or head to Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, or directly from the publisher.

Who is Keith?

Keith Rommel is a multi-award-winning author and screenwriter best known for his Thanatology dark suspense series, The Devil Tree series based on a notoriously haunted location in Florida, and the fast-paced Cultures Collide crime series. Rommel’s stories have been called “intelligent fiction” and “horror for the curious mind.”

keith rommel headshot1.pngKeith has had the honor of co-writing The Cursed Man and The Lurking Man movies which have garnished over 160 awards combined, including best screenplays and best feature films. All of his novels are available at all major booksellers and both films are available on most major platforms.

Are you an Indie Author?

Your readers are missing a critical factor in your story: SCENT! Wick Books® story-scented candles allow your fans to experience the story as you intended! Together with your Personal Candle Specialist, you can craft the perfect addition to your book through a combination of hundreds of essential oil scents. What are you waiting for? Stand out from other authors and connect personally with your readers through Wick Books® story-scented candles based off YOUR book!   

 

What are Wick Books®?

The other day I was walking my dog when a familiar scent crossed my path. Instantly, I was back in New York City on my great-grandmother’s porch walking among her delicious-scented garden. I could hear her crackly voice mixed with her thick New York accent. I could feel the security and protection only childhood can offer. I could see the bright colors–reds and purples and yellows–covering her yard with butterflies dancing between them and busy bees taking nectar. The memory was triggered by the scent. I don’t know which flower I smelled on that walk, but I can guarantee you it was also in her garden.

According to fifthsense.org., “The sense of smell is closely linked with memory, probably more so than any of our other senses. Those with full olfactory function may be able to think of smells that evoke particular memories; the scent of an orchard in blossom conjuring up recollections of a childhood picnic, for example.”

As an author, it is my job to create worlds that the reader wants to spend time in. This requires great attention to sensory detail in order to really build a place that is vivid and alive. And then it hit me:

Story-Scented Candles!

What if I could create unique, handcrafted candles based off moments in my books for readers to light while they read to truly experience the story? They could even light the candle when they aren’t reading the book to enjoy the fragrance and return to the story world at any time.

This is Wick Books®, a way to experience the story as the author intended. 2017, 06-17 Cosography 046-TAGGED

Jaimie Engle is the creator and founder of Wick Books® story-scented candles based off smells from her award-winning speculative fiction books, literary classics, and soon to come: today’s bestsellers and independent authors.

Her speculative fiction books are her inspiration for handcrafting gel-mineral based candles available for purchase, along with her book, through her store at jmebooks.com.